Album cover artwork for PWR/UP by AC/DCSome thought the show was over – but AC/DC will never die.

After the death of big brother Malcolm, Angus put the band back together: Brian Johnson, Phil Rudd and Cliff Williams, with nephew Stevie Young stepping up on rhythm guitar. The result is classic AC/DC. Of course it is!

This might be the band’s 17th studio album, but the song remains the same. And what a song: thundering riffs, pounding drums, ear-piercing vocals. “Gonna make you realise,” Johnson sings in the opening cut.

But AC/DC have nothing to prove. This record might even feature moments of reflection. One song is called Through The Mists Of Time, while Johnson muses, “Those moments just pass you by.” But overall, it’s trademark AC/DC: loud and proud.

PWR/UP by AC/DC is out now via Sony.
Read our interview with Angus Young.

Buy now at JB Hi-Fi

Keep up with the latest Australian release dates for music.