The follow-up to Alice Ivy’s stupendous debut (2018’s I’m Dreaming) is a collab fest: Album art for Don't Sleep by Alice IvyAnnika Schmarsel – the Geelong-raised producer/multi-instrumental genius behind this moniker – shares her spotlight with (mostly female and non-binary) guest artists on 12 of Don’t Sleep’s 13 tracks.

[Read our interview with Alice Ivy here.]

Built from a summery horn sample, Sunrise (feat. the aptly named Cadence Weapon) bursts from speakers/earbuds with effervescent vivacity (“Up in the clouds, no I don’t wanna come down”); Sweetest Love (feat. Montaigne and Bertie Blackman) incorporates irresistible squeaks (rubber ducky?), and Ngaiire channels Beyoncé throughout All For You. Stand-out track All Hit Radio (feat. Teef and TESSA) throws down a vocal hook that teases whistle-note heights, sweetening the badass rap-attack.

A glittering gee-up soundtrack for future Champagne Late Nights, Don’t Sleep documents Alice Ivy in full bloom.

Don’t Sleep by Alice Ivy is out July 17 via Dew Process.

Buy now at JB Hi-Fi

Keep up with the latest Australian release dates for music.