Album cover artwork for Animal CollectiveTime Skiffs, Animal Collective’s first album in five years, is steered by the band’s dynamic experimentation, songs changing course and surprising with every turn.

Opening with the surreal Dragonslayer, the Baltimore four-piece combine the sounds of autoharp, synths and lap steel guitar to bring a vivid scene to life, while the Yellow Magic Orchestra-inspired Car Keys reminds listeners of the power of Panda Bear and Avey Tare’s harmonised vocals. Elsewhere on the record the band pay tribute to British-American experimental music pioneer Scott Walker (who passed away in 2019) on Walker, before enchanting with the hypnotic Passer-by.

Time Skiffs is proof that even 20 years and 11 albums in, Animal Collective still possess an abundance of vitality.

Time Skiffs by Animal Collective is out Feb 4 via Domino.

Buy now at JB Hi-Fi

Keep up with the latest Australian release dates for music.