Ian Moss vinylIan Moss’s new album features a song called Broadway. A slow-burning gem about missing a loved one while on tour, it’s an instant classic, as good as anything Moss has ever done. “The years fall away so quickly now,” he sings. “I’ve all the fortune and the fame. Oh, but I’d leave it all to yesterday just to be with you again.”

Moss addresses the passing of time on this album (his first in nine years) and co-wrote every song aside from the poignant My Suffering, written by his Chisel bandmate Steve Prestwich, who died in 2011. Other highlights include Down Along The Track, which sounds like a sequel to Bow River; I’m Not Your Only Man, which starts out tough but then features the album’s sweetest melody; and opening track If Another Day, which you know is an Ian Moss song as soon as you hear the first chord. Moss might not be prolific – since Chisel’s Last Stand, Jimmy Barnes has released 16 studio albums; this is Moss’s seventh – and you won’t see him popping up on TV talk shows. He prefers to let his music do the talking, and when it’s this good, you won’t hear any complaints. This is his finest solo album.

Ian Moss is out March 9 via Liberation.

Buy now at JB Hi-Fi

Keep up with the latest Australian release dates for music.

Ian Moss is touring from June – November! See dates below; all tickets available here.

Friday, 22 June 2018 | Wrest Point Showroom, Hobart
Saturday, 23 June 2018 | Country Club Showroom, Launceston
Friday, 29 June 2018 | The Tivoli, Brisbane
Saturday, 30 June 2018 | The Tivoli, Brisbane
Friday, 6 July 2018 | The Palms At Crown, Melbourne
Saturday, 7 July 2018 | The Palms At Crown, Melbourne
Friday, 13 July 2018 | Canberra Theatre, Playhouse, Canberra
Saturday, 14 July 2018 | The Enmore Theatre, Sydney
Friday, 20 July 2018 | Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide
Saturday, 21 July 2018 | Astor Theatre, Perth
Friday, 3 August 2018 | Newcastle City Hall, Newcastle NSW
Saturday, 4 August 2018 | Dubbo Regional Theatre, Dubbo NSW
Friday, 10 August 2018 | Bathurst Memorial Entertainment Centre, Bathurst NSW
Saturday, 11 August 2018 | Blue Mountains Theatre, Springwood NSW
Friday, 17 August 2018 | Griffith Regional Theatre, Griffith NSW
Saturday, 18 August 2018 | Albury Entertainment Centre, Albury NSW
Friday, 31 August 2018 | Saraton Theatre, Grafton NSW
Saturday, 1 September 2018 | Park Lane Theatre, Ballina NSW
Friday, 7 September 2018 | The Art House, Wyong NSW
Saturday, 8 September 2018 | Anita’s Theatre, Thirroul NSW
Friday, 14 September 2018 | Drum Theatre, Dandenong VIC
Saturday, 15 September 2018 | Wonthaggi Union Community Arts Centre, Wonthaggi VIC
Friday, 21 September 2018 | Glasshouse Theatre, Port Macquarie NSW
Saturday, 22 September 2018 | Manning Entertainment Centre, Taree NSW
Friday, 26 October 2018 | The Wedge – Performing Arts Centre, Sale VIC
Saturday, 27 October 2018 | La Trobe Town Hall, Traralgon VIC
Friday, 2 November 2018 | Horsham Town Hall, Horsham VIC
Saturday, 3 November 2018 | Eastbank Performing Arts Centre, Shepparton VIC
Friday, 9 September 2018 | Crossing Theatre, Narrabri NSW
Saturday, 10 November 2018 | Orange Civic Theatre, Orange NSW
Friday, 16 September 2018 | Lighthouse Theatre, Warrnambool VIC
Saturday, 17 November 2018 | Wendouree Performing Arts Centre, Ballarat VIC
Friday, 23 September 2018 | Lismore City Hall Lismore NSW
Saturday, 24 November 2018 | Capitol Theatre, Tamworth NSW