Album cover for Shame new album“Now what you see is what you get…” – album opener/lead single Alphabet sees Charlie Steen speak-singing; James Murphy insouciance meets Iggy Pop effrontery.

Deconstructing his usual songwriting approach for Shame’s second LP, guitarist Sean Coyle-Smith experimented with alternative tunings while digesting Talking Heads and ESG. The results? Dense riffs served with extra metallic crunch.

Arrangements are typically ruled by chaos, and percussion clatters down alleys less traversed. Bassist Josh Finerty tweaked this material with Scottish electronic artist Makeness and James Ford, both of whom undoubtedly broadened Shame’s sonic palette.

“They say don’t live in the past/ And I don’t/ I live deep within myself” – identity crises recur throughout. Drunk Tank Pink concludes with an aural representation of a panic attack. We prescribe moshpit therapy.

Drunk Tank Pink by Shame is out now via Dead Oceans.

Buy now at JB Hi-Fi

Keep up with the latest Australian release dates for music.