The Superjesus sumo1998 is often considered, historically, the golden year in the arc of Australian music. One of the many beloved albums released during those 12 months was The Superjesus’ debut effort Sumo, the china anniversary of which the band celebrate this month with an extended re-issue of the record.

“There were so many cool bands around and we were all marching toward a common goal – it was a really exciting time,” guitarist and vocalist Sarah McLeod tells STACK. “The Jebs, Grinners, Spiderbait, Magic Dirt, Regurgitator, Shihad, Killing Heidi. It was a super happening scene that was supported heavily by the public and the industry alike. It felt like we were in the circus! I felt so honoured to be part of something so cool.”

Of the original Sumo tracklist, McLeod says it’s the heavy melodic sway of Sink which has grown on her the most over the last 20 years. “I forgot how much I loved it until I re-learnt it recently to play on the tour,” she says. “There’s so many parts to all the songs on Sumo; re-learning them has reminded me how complex they are.” One of the new tracks on the reissue is a surprising cover: Kylie Minogue’s Confide In Me. “We played with a version of it back in ’97, around the same time we recorded Sumo,” McLeod explains. “We never finished it though – we only recorded loads of heavy guitars playing the badass riff, then forgot about it.

Recently though, I heard it again – it made me remember how cool the riff was when it was tuned down and dirty. So I had a crack at a full demo of it, vocals and all. That rad harmony came from our guitarist Jason; when everyone was on the spot in the studio some real magic came out. I love it when that happens.”

Sumo (20th Anniversary Edition) is out now via Warner.

Buy now at JB Hi-Fi
The Superjesus’ upcoming tour dates, and ticketing links, are below.

Saturday September 29
The Gov, Adelaide
Tickets: Oztix

Friday October 5
Barwon Club, Geelong
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, October 6
Max Watt’s, Melbourne
Tickets: Oztix

Wednesday October 10
Taphouse, Bendigo
Tickets: Oztix

Thursday October 11
Beer Deluxe, Albury
Tickets: Oztix

Friday October 12
ANU Bar, Canberra
Tickets: Moshtix

Saturday October 13
Narrabeen RSL, Narrabeen
Tickets: Oztix

Friday October 19
Manning Bar, Sydney
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday October 20
Tattersall’s, Penrith
Tickets: Oztix

Sunday October 21
Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle
Tickets: Oztix

Thursday October 25
Byron Bay Brewery, Byron Bay
Tickets: Oztix

Friday October 26
Racecourse Hotel, Ipswich
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday October 27
The Zoo, Brisbane
Tickets: Oztix

Thursday November 1
Prince Of Wales, Bunbury
Tickets: Oztix

Friday November 2
Newport Hotel, Fremantle
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday November 3
Capitol, Perth
Tickets: Oztix

Friday November 9
York On Lilydale, Mount Evelyn
Tickets: Oztix

Friday November 16
Dalrymple Hotel, Townsville
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday November 17
Tanks Art Centre, Cairns
Tickets: Ticketlink