The nine-strong Australian Music Prize shortlist is here.

The AMP has been running since 2005 when The Drones won its inaugural prize, and ever since has existed to discover, reward and promote new Australian music of excellence. In contention to join the prestigious ranks of previous winners A.B. Original, Courtney Barnett and REMI, we now have the nine albums shortlisted for the 2017 AMP’s $30,000 prize money (courtesy of the PPCA). The winner will be announced March 9.

Founder and Director of the AMP, Scott B Murphy said, “I can’t applaud the 19 judges of The 13th AMP enough – the volume of eligible releases skyrocketed by about 100 from 2016 to 2017 – that’s a lot of great Australian music they had to give up their time to ‘absorb’ and then produce this diverse, compelling list of 9. Please, discover and enjoy these albums.

Without further circumlocution, here are the nominees.

Beaches, Second of Spring


Darcy Baylis, Intimacy & Isolation


HTMLflowers, Chrome Halo


Jen Cloher, Jen Cloher


Jordan Rakei, Wallflower


Liars, TFCF


Paul Kelly, Life is Fine


Sampa The Great, Birds and the BEE9


The Vampires, The Vampires Meet Lionel Loueke