Noms for the 12th AIR Awards have been announced by the Australian Independent Record Labels Association, with the big event to be held at Adelaide’s Queen’s Theatre on Thursday, July 26.

Over 40 of Australia’s finest share the nominations this year, with Melbourne’s RVG, The Jungle Giants and Alex Lahey receiving the most nods.

Here’s the complete list of nominations…

Best Independent Artist
Alex Lahey
Baker Boy
Jen Cloher
Stella Donnelly
The Jungle Giants

Alex Lahey I Love You Like A Brother

Best Independent Album or EP
RVG – A Quality of Mercy
Methyl Ethel – Everything Is Forgotten
Alex Lahey – I Love You Like a Brother
Jen Cloher – Jen Cloher
The Jungle Giants – Quiet Ferocity
Alex the Astronaut – See You Soon

Best Independent Single
RVG – A Quality of Mercy
Alex Lahey – Every Day’s the Weekend
The Jungle Giants – Feel the Way I Do
Baker Boy feat. Yirrmal – Marryuna
Methyl Ethel – Ubu

The Jungle Giants

Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year
Angie McMahon – Slow Mover
Baker Boy – Marryuna
RVG – A Quality of Mercy
Stella Donnelly – Thrush Metal
The Jungle Giants – Quiet Ferocity

Air Awards - RVG

Best Independent Hip Hop Album
Horrorshow – Bardo State
Bliss N Eso – Off the Grid
Allday – Speeding
Winston Surfshirt – Sponge Cake
Birdz – Train of Thought

Bliss N Eso

Best Independent Country Album
Halfway – Live at the Triffid
Fanny Lumsden – Real Class Act
Caitlyn Shadbolt – Songs On My Sleeve
Lee Kernaghan – The 25th Anniversary Album

Best Independent Blues and Roots Album
The Teskey Brothers – Half Mile Harvest
The Waifs – Ironbark
Dan Sultan – Killer
All Our Exes Live in Texas – When We Fall
Caiti Baker – Zinc

Dan Sultan

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album
RVG – A Quality of Mercy
Bad//Dreems – Gutful
Sleepmakeswaves – Made of Breath Only
Northlane – Mesmer
The Smith Street Band – More Scared of You Than You Are of Me
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – Murder of the Universe

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album or EP
Pnau – Changa
Crooked Colours – Vera
Thrupence – Ideas of Aesthetics
Slumberjack – Fracture

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single
Touch Sensitive – Lay Down
Pnau – Go Bang
Banoffee – Ripe
Benson feat. Yeo – Trying
Motez feat. Antony and Cleopatra – The Future
Confidence Man – Bubblegum

Best Independent Jazz Album
The Vampires – The Vampires Meet Lionel Loueke
James Morrison/BBC Concert Orchestra – The Great American Songbook
Jeremy Rose – Within and Without
My Name Is Nobody – My Name Is Nobody
Joseph Tawadros – Live at Abbey Road

Best Independent Classical Album
Grigoryan Brothers – Songs Without Words
Australian Chamber Orchestra/Richard Tognetti – Jonny Greenwood Water/Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Night Music
Slava Grigoryan – Bach: Cello Suites Volume II
Sydney Chamber Choir/Paul Stanhope – Paul Stanhope: Lux Aeterna
Kate Miller-Heidke/Sydney Symphony Orchestra/Benjamin Northey – Kate Miller-Heidke Live with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra