After much deliberation, the winner of the 2020 AMP Award is The Avalanches, with their hot long-player, We Will Always Love You.

As well as knowing that theirs was considered by the judging panel the best Australian album released in 2020, The Avalanches will also nab a very handy $20,000 cash prize.

Before the prize was announced, the band’s Tony Di Blasi said that bandmate Robbie Chater had written a “thesis” for the album, which they didn’t think they’d be able to execute. Robbie says they were so very grateful to Anne Sagan (Carl Sagan’s partner) for allowing them to use her image for the record’s cover, and the sound of her heartbeat – recorded by Carl as he proposed to her – within the album.

The result came from a list of 88 nominated albums that was whittled down to a shortlist of nine, all of which would have been worthy winners.

Here’s one of the great collaborations from the winning album, The Divine Chord, featuring legendary guitarist Johnny Marr, as well as MGMT.

Buy now at JB Hi-Fi