Want to know who’s in it to potentially win it for the next Australian Music Prize? The longlist for 2018 has just been revealed.

The AMP celebrates that much-loved staple of music for several generations now, the album.

The final decision is up to a panel of 21 judges, which includes artists, journos*, retailers, programmers and others selecting the best Australian albums of the year based solely on artistic merit.

“This year the quantity of Australian albums has really increased, but along with that, so has the quality,” said AMP judge and Hoodoo Gurus frontman Dave Faulkner. “The judges have been blown away by the number of albums that we’ve discovered for ourselves as part of this process. The reality that the Australian Music Prize can be a recognition of the winner, but also a platform for music-lovers everywhere to discover new records without the shackles of genre and format is so exciting.”

It isn’t just about glory, as the Australian Music Prize awards what is voted as the year’s best album $30,000. That’s a lot of money in muso language.

Here’s Briggs from A.B. Original on what winning the AMP in 2016 meant to him, as well as his thoughts on the 2018 longlist:

A total of 86 releases have made the 2018 longlist, with the final shortlist of nine set to be revealed in early 2019, and the winner announced in March.

Here’s the full longlist:

Abbe May – Fruit
Alice Ivy – I’m Dreaming
Alice Skye – Friends with Feelings
Amy Shark – Love Monster
Barney McAll feat. Monash Art Ensemble – Zephyrix
Camp Cope – How to Socialise & Make Friends
Cash Savage and the Last Drinks – Good Citizens
Catherine Britt & The Cold Cold Hearts – Catherine Britt & The Cold Cold Hearts
Confidence Man – Confident Music for Confident People
Cosmo’s Midnight – What Comes Next
Courtney Barnett – Tell Me How You Really Feel
Dark Fair – Off Into My Head
Dead Can Dance – Dionysus
Deaf Wish – Lithium Zion
DZ Deathrays – Bloody Lovely
East Brunswick All Girls Choir – Teddywaddy
Emily Wurramara – Milyakburra
Emma Louise – Lilac Everything: A Project by Emma Louise
Evelyn Ida Morris – Evelyn Ida Morris
Evelyn Ida Morris – Acute Misfortune
Flowertruck – Mostly Sunny
Fraser A Gorman – Easy Dazy
Freya Josephine Hollick – Feral Fusion
Gabriella Cohen – Pink Is the Colour of Unconditional Love
The Goon Sax – We’re Not Talking
Grand Salvo – Sea Glass
Gregor – Silver Drop
Gurrumul – Djarimirri
High Tension – Purge
Hockey Dad – Blend Inn
Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders – Blue Poles
Jack River – Sugar Mountain
Jethro Pickett – France
Jonathan Zwartz – Animarum (expanded edition)
Joseph Tawadros – The Bluebird, the Mystic & the Fool
Joyride – Sunrise Chaser
Kasey Chambers & The Fireside Disciples – Campfire
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Gumboot Soup
Lachlan Bryan and the Wildes – Some Girls (Quite) Like Country Music
Laura Jean – Devotion
Loose Tooth – Keep Up
Lowtide – Southern Mind
LUCIANBLOMKAMP – Sick of What I Don’t Understand (Pts 1 – 3)
Luke Howard – Open Heart Story
The Lulu Raes – LULU
Matt Corby – Rainbow Valley
Mia Dyson – If I Said Only So Far I Take It Back
Middle Kids – Lost Friends
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
The Moles – Code Word
Morning Harvey – With the Pinstripes
The Necks – Body
Ned Collette – Old Chestnut
New War – COIN
The Ocean Party – The Oddfellows Hall
Odette – To a Stranger
Oh Pep! – I Wasn’t Only Thinking About You…
Padma Newsome – The Vanity of Trees
Perry Keyes – Jim Salmon’s Lament
Peter Bibby – Grand Champion
The Presets – Hi Viz
Primitive Motion – House in the Wave
Psycroptic – As the Kingdom Drowns
The Putbacks – The Putbacks
Rabbit Island – Deep in the Big
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Hope Downs
Ryan Downey – Running
Sam Anning – Across a Field as Vast as One
Sarah Blasko – Depth of Field
Sarah Mary Chadwick – Sugar Still Melts in the Rain
Setec – Atrial Flutters (or Raise Yr Hand if Yr Afraid)
Shepparton Airplane – Almurta
Southeast Desert Metal – Break the Silence
Space Invadas – Wild World
Steve Barry Quartet – Blueprints & Vignettes
Straight Arrows – On Top
SURFING – Incubo
Tangents – New Bodies
Tape/Off – Broadcast Park
Tia Gostelow – Thick Skin
Tom Noonan – Pas de Deux
Tori Forsyth – Dawn of the Dark
Totally Mild – Her
Tropical F-ck Storm – A Laughing Death in Meatspace
Troye Sivan – Bloom
William Crighton – Empire


* In the interests of transparency, STACK‘s music editor, Zoë Radas, is a member of this year’s judging panel.