Even death can’t stop true legends, as details are announced of a Johnny Cash tribute album featuring Chris Cornell and several other musical luminaries.

It comes some 21 years after Cash recorded Soundgarden’s Rusty Cage for his stunning Unchained album.

Entitled Johnny Cash: Forever Words, the project has been overseen by Cash’s son John Carter Cash. The artists involved have set music to poetry written by Johnny Cash that was previously published in his book Forever Words: The Unknown Poems.

The album is set for release in early April, and boasts an impressive list of contributors. Here’s the track listing…

1. Forever/I Still Miss Someone – Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson
2. To June This Morning – Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves
3. Gold All Over the Ground – Brad Paisley
4. You Never Knew My Mind – Chris Cornell
5. The Captain’s Daughter – Alison Krauss and Union Station
6. Jellico Coal Man – T. Bone Burnett
7. The Walking Wounded – Rosanne Cash
8. Them Double Blues – John Mellencamp
9. Body on Body – Jewel
10. I’ll Still Love You – Elvis Costello
11. June’s Sundown – Carlene Carter
12. He Bore It All – Daily and Vincent
13. Chinky Pin Hill – I’m With Her
14. Goin’, Goin’, Gone – Robert Glasper featuring Ro James and Anu Sun
15. What Would I Dreamer Do? – The Jayhawks
16. Spirit Rider – Jamey Johnson

Here’s a trailer, featuring Cash’s kids speaking about their father’s poetry, along with some footage from the sessions for the album.

Get into Johnny Cash at JB Hi-Fi.