With the announcement that Sampa The Great’s The Return album took home the 15th Australian Music Prize (AMP) on Friday, she becomes the first artist in the AMP’s 15-year history to win the $30,000 prize twice. 

Over 400 Australian albums met the eligible criteria for this award in 2019, with The Return deemed the most important record of the year by a panel of judges who made their selection from a nine-album shortlist that was rounded out by stunning sets from some of this country’s finest artists including Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Ghosteen), Julia Jacklin (Crushing) and Amyl & The Sniffers’ self-titled LP.

Said Sampa The Great: “The fact that I’m able to create my most vulnerable music and have it supported over the years has been amazing! I want to thank the AMP for recognising the music and stories behind The Return. The Return was not written for radio play or commercial appeal. It was written to bring to light the journey of a person who began her career in a country far away from home. It was to bring to light the sense of displacement felt in that journey and in a global sense throughout the world. It allowed me to tell my full story – without having it told for me. I thank the AMP for looking at solely the music and judging only that. As in this day and age it seems that is not the norm.”

Sampa previously collected this prestigious award for her 2017 ‘mixtape’ Birds and the BEE9.

Check out Sampa The Great’s The Return at JB Hi-Fi.