The inductees into the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of fame have been announced for the year, and as usual there are some good inclusions and some egregious omissions.

Those to make the cut this year are The Go-Go’s (YAY!), Jay-Z, Tina Turner, Foo Fighters, Carole King and Todd Rundgren.

Recognition was given to some others, including Germany’s super-influential Kraftwerk receiving the ‘Early Influence Award’ alongside the late Gil Scott-Heron and ‘father of the delta blues’ Charley Patton.

Meanwhile, ‘The Musical Excellence Award’ went to LL Cool J, Billy Preston and legendary heavy metal guitarist Randy Rhoads.

Once again overlooked despite a concerted campaign – and their being one of the most influential bands of all time – is Devo, which makes you wonder what’s going on at the old Hall politically. Or maybe they’re just using their freedom of choice…?

Devo at JB Hi-Fi.