The National have unleashed a cover of the much-loved INXS song Never Tear Us Apart, ahead of the release of charity album Songs for Australia.

A collection of artists from home and abroad are contributing to the project, made to raise money for organisations who are helping to rebuild after the recent Australian bushfire crisis.

Julia Stone is at the heart of the record. She was in London recording when she learned that her mother was being evacuated from her home on the south coast of New South Wales. Watching the unfolding bushfire crisis on the news, she felt helpless, leading her to record a cover of Midnight Oil’s Beds Are Burning.

That joins contributions from others such as Kurt Vile, Joan as Police Woman, Damien Rice, Martha Wainwright, Paul Kelly and Dan Sultan on the album.

Here’s the full track listing:

1. The National, Never Tear Us Apart (INXS)
2. Petit Biscuit, Chateau (Angus & Julia Stone)
3. Dermot Kennedy, Resolution (Matt Corby)
4. Dope Lemon, Streets of Your Town (The Go-Betweens)
5. Kurt Vile, Stranger Than Kindness (Nick Cave)
6. Joan As Police Woman, Hearts a Mess (Gotye)
7. Damien Rice, Chandelier (Sia)
8. Martha Wainwright, The Ship Song (Nick Cave)
9. Paul Kelly, Native Born (Archie Roach)
10. Dan Sultan, Into My Arms (Nick Cave)
11. Pomme, Big Jet Plane (Angus & Julia Stone)
12. Julia Stone, Beds Are Burning (Midnight Oil)
13. Sam Amidon, Let Me Down Easy (Gang of Youths)

Here’s The National:

Here’s Julia Stone:

Songs for Australia is set for a physical release in June.