Matt Berninger of The National has announced the upcoming release of his debut solo album, entitled Serpentine Prison.

A first taste of it comes to us in the form of the title track, the video for which you can watch down this page.

The long-player is set for release on October 2 – so plenty of time to save those shekels – and if you’re not excited enough by the prospect of hearing Matt’s voice on a collection of new tunes, maybe the fact that music legend Booker T Jones produced the record will get you keen?

Jones and Berninger have formed their own imprint – Book Records – on which to release the album.

Serpentine Prison was penned back in December 2018, about a week after recording The National’s I Am Easy to Find. Says Berninger: “For a long time I had been writing songs for movies and musicals and other projects where I needed to get inside someone else’s head and convey another person’s feelings. I liked doing that but I was ready to dig back into my own garbage and this was the first thing that came out. The title is from a twisting sewer pipe that drains into the ocean near LAX. There’s a cage on the pipe to keep people from climbing out to sea. I worked on the song with Sean O’Brien and Harrison Whitford and recorded it about six months later with Booker T. Jones producing. It feels like an epilogue so I named the record after it and put it last.”

A bunch of familiar-to-many names will feature on the album, including Matt Barrick, Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, Scott Devendorf, Gail Ann Dorsey, Teddy Jones, Brent Knopf, Ben Lanz, Walter Martin, Sean O’Brien, Mickey Raphael, Kyle Resnick, Matt Sheehy and Harrison Whitford.

The National at JB Hi-Fi.