Thelma Plum has put her own spin on Powderfinger’s 1999 anthem from the Two Hands soundtrack, These Days.

The Gamilaraay singer songwriter took a break while recording her new album to put down the song for the new CBA “We Can. Together.” ad campaign.

The Powderfinger song is a bona fide Aussie classic, yet the original (and, if you ask us, best) version that they recorded, the one that appeared in Two Hands and topped the Triple J Hottest 100, was originally a B-side to Internationalist single Passenger.

Says Thelma, “I was given the chance to record a song I grew up with, and as a Brissie local, I already know a couple of the Powderfinger guys so of course, I said yes. I even recorded parts of it in Ian’s (Haug, Powderfinger guitarist) studio, which made it feel even more natural.”

Meanwhile, new tour dates have been announced for Thelma’s Homecoming Queen tour, which will feature special guest Kira Puru.

Wednesday, November 11 – The River, Margaret River WA
Thursday, November 12 – Astor Theatre, Perth WA
Sunday, November 15 – The Gov, Hindmarsh, SA
Friday, November 20 – Armitage Center, Toowoomba QLD
Saturday, November 21 – Big Pineapple Festival 2020, Woombye QLD
Thursday, November 26 – Anita’s Theatre, Thirroul NSW
Saturday, November 28– Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW
Sunday, November 29 – Forum, Melbourne VIC
Saturday, December 5 – Torquay Hotel, Torquay VIC
Thursday, December 10 – Newcastle Exhibition & Convention Centre, Newcastle NSW
Friday, December 11 – UC Refectory, Canberra ACT
Saturday, December 12 – The Uni Bar Hobart, Sandy Bay TAS
Friday, December 18 – Kingscliff Beach Hotel, Kingscliff NSW
Saturday, December 19 – Fortitude Music Hall, Brisbane QLD

Thelma Plum at JB Hi-Fi.